A Little Mini Update

I’m still alive!  Promise!

Things are going well with little Olaf, too.  She’s moving a lot and we’re all getting ready to meet her.  We have an embarrassing amount of baby showers coming up, but I am super excited for each and every one of them.  I can’t believe she will be here in 6-ish weeks.  Insane.

I wanted to post today to let everyone know my reasoning behind the lack of blogging… I promise it’s not because I don’t love you all!

It’s because – believe it or not – I really am a pretty private person.  This blog was my way of tracking my training and talking about races and connecting with the running community.  When I got pregnant, I thought I could talk about all the baby things… but that makes me pretty uncomfortable.  Brandon and I have made a conscious (and unpopular) decision to keep our little one OFF of social media as much as possible.  Now, I am sure I will post some pictures from time to time… but there will be no “here’s her toes!” “here’s her ear!” “here’s what she wore this morning, and what she’s wearing now!” “oooh she just pooped!!!” etc etc etc etc etc.  This generation of children are the first ones to be born into a world of social media, where they do not have a choice what gets put out there.

I was in college when Facebook was invented.  I have chosen everything about me that has gone online.  I have made a LOT of mistakes in my younger years about that… but they were MY mistakes.  I don’t want my baby to grow up and have this archive of every little part of her life already online.  I refuse.  I won’t post anything on the internet that I wouldn’t want posted on the front page of the Dallas Morning News.  A huge milestone (that doesn’t have to do with potty training…) okay!  A family picture?  Absolutely!!  But that’s about it.

Anyways – back to my original point – I am just not really comfortable sharing too much about that part of my life in an arena where I’m not 100% sure who is exactly reading.  When it comes to training and racing, I don’t care who reads!  Lets all read and talk about how much fun running is.  When it comes to my kid?  Eeeeeh…. different story.

So, I promise to keep you all updated on the big stuff.  We’re ALMOST done with her nursery, and you bet I’ll be posting pictures of that!  When she gets here… you will be the first to know.  But my posting will most likely be pretty few and far between until I’m back in the saddle training again.  And you’ll probably get some pictures of some baby feet peeking out of the BOB stroller.  (which I know I am getting at one of my showers because my mom ((& dad)) ROCKS)

Just to preview what’s ahead… I already have my 2015 schedule down.

May – Spa Girl Triathlon.  This will be my first race after baby.  Completing the triathlon that I did while 12 weeks pregnant with my daughter cheering me on?  I can’t think of a better way to get back into the swing of things.  (Plus, the distances are all relatively short, so it won’t be overwhelming to train for!)

August – Dumbo Double Dare.  FINALLY.  Dad and I had to defer our registration this year to next year, and we are already talking about our training plans!  The double dare is a 10K on Saturday morning, and a Half Marathon on Sunday morning in Disneyland!  This will be a really fun trip, I don’t think my Dad has ever been to Disneyland……  we are still debating if it will be just the two of us, or if we will make it a big family affair…

November – Wine and Dine Half Marathon.  Again, FINALLY!  I have a bunch of friends running this year and I am SO SAD I will miss out (the race is literally on the day I am due!) – but I am probably MOST excited about this one.  We are going to go and bring along the whole family again… and one of the reasons is to celebrate baby’s first birthday!  I know she won’t remember, but really first birthdays are about the parents not the kid.  And I doubt her actual birthday will be during that time… but close enough!

There will be lots of 5ks thrown in there, maybe some 10ks and maybe even some more halfs…. but those three are my big goals for 2015.  I am really looking forward to getting back into training (and back into blogging!) when the time is right!!

2 thoughts on “A Little Mini Update

Leave a Reply

