Kitchen Counters

So remember how I told you about this lady that was going to paint our counters?  Remember how I thought it would be tacky… but then saw the samples and it was awesome?

Yeah.  It’s awesome.

I don’t have a ton of “before” pictures, so bear with me.  This picture was from when the house was for sale:

The counters really aren’t so bad… but they aren’t great either.  Mostly just boring, and since I spend the majority of my time at home in the kitchen… I really wanted to put a lot into it before we moved in.  We have thought a lot about a future renovation (like knocking out the wall behind the sink to create a pass through so I can watch little Olaf in the other room while I cook…) but that’s on the back burner for now.  ESPECIALLY because on the other side of the wall is the big Family Tree.

Anyways – we obviously have already painted the walls blue (which, after looking at this picture, was the BEST idea)… so there is another picture of the kitchen.  Well, it’s a picture of me watching Brandon unhook the sink.  (It was gross and needed to be replaced, so we figured this was the best time to do it…)

While we LOVE the paint color, after doing that… the counters looked especially bland.  We thought about adding some peel and stick fake tile backsplash, but it just wasn’t doing it for us.

Then we discovered the counters.

I do have to tell you guys I was really nervous about the whole thing.  I knew I liked the idea… but I was so nervous that the execution wouldn’t be what I thought it would be and then I’d be stuck with it.  While this was definitely cheaper than installing granite and real brick… it still wasn’t cheap.

But……. I LOVE IT.

So here we go.

Step 1 wasn’t really very exciting.  I was just mostly excited that they had finally started.  The sooner this was done, the sooner we’d get to move in…  (you can have this done while you’re living at home… but we figured it would be easiest to wait.  Plus, we weren’t sure about the fumes with the sealant and me being all pregnant… so we waited.)

Step 2 is where it gets a little more exciting.  Brandon had gone over to the house to start painting the office, and I went over to visit Mom for a bit.  He sent me these pictures of the progress…

I was SO EXCITED about the counters!  This is just the paint with no sealant.  I knew it was going to be awesome!  I did get a little nervous about the backsplash though… and then I showed our designer (who is also one of my mom’s best friends who just happened to be over at her house too)… and she assured me that she wasn’t finished yet.

The next day we went in and the brick was very….. yellow.

I didn’t love it.  I didn’t hate it either… but it just wasn’t what I was thinking.  I sent this picture to our designer asking what she thought, and she agreed.  Much too yellow.  So she had the painter go back and cool it off a bit…

MUCH BETTER!!!!!!!  Here’s a close up:

We love it.  SO glad we decided to take the plunge and have it done!  It’s like a whole new kitchen!!!!  We had the sink installed, and the fridge is here now too.  Once I have everything in order I will go through the house and take some pictures!!

We are SO HAPPY to be home!!!

 

One thought on “Kitchen Counters

  1. Wow!! What a process!! They absolutely look 100% better!! I’m so impressed with your designer’s ability to “see” these things because Lord knows I don’t have those genes!

Leave a Reply

