QUEEN

I remember this day like it was yesterday.  I was 6 years old.  My dad was upset about something, and went into the front room of our little house, got out his records, and played a song.  This song was played over and over and over again, for at least 2 (maybe even 3) hours.  And he played it LOUD.  You could hear it clear as day from the front yard!

The song?

Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy? Caught in a landslide, No escape from reality……….

He sang and sang and sang.  Why?  Because Freddie Mercury had passed away that day.

I loved that song.

This day in 1991 started my love for all things Queen.  ESPECIALLY Bohemian Rhapsody.

I have so many memories riding in the car with my dad blasting that song.  We had (ahem, have) the air instruments down like total pros.  My favorite part is when he would play piano on the dashboard of the car.  And his falsetto while singing “Galileo” was spot on.

Still, to this day, if I am in the car and Bohemian Rhapsody comes on the radio… it is turned up and listened to completely.  Even if that means sitting in the car in a parking lot until it’s over.  That’s just how it is.  So you can imagine my excitement when I heard that QUEEN was coming to Dallas with Adam Lambert.  Sidenote – I also remember Adam Lambert from Idol, from his very first audition my dad and I talked about how he sounded like Freddie!!  Especially because he sang Bohemian Rhapsody!!  And my dad and I flipped out when we watched the finale together and he sang “We Are The Champions” WITH Queen.  It was awesome.

Anyways, Queen and Adam Lambert were coming to Dallas and I had to go.  Originally, we were all going to go… but it just didn’t work out that way.  So Brandon and I went alone on Thursday and it was AMAZING.  We had incredible seats, and the concert was almost surreal.

It was so cool.  Plus, it was even cooler when they would occasionally throw Freddie up on the screen to sing parts of songs.  And during “Days of Our Lives” I got a little misty, as did the Roger Taylor, while they showed old footage of the band.  I took a TON of pictures, and a TON of videos… but I won’t post them all here.  But I will post this one…

I am laughing at how well you can hear all the people singing… the guy in front of me was so excited I thought he was going to pee his pants.  I’m actually surprised you can’t hear ME singing on the video!!!  All my apologies if you aren’t a huge Queen fan and this is incredibly boring to you.  But still.  OMG GUYS, QUEEN.

One thought on “QUEEN

Leave a Reply

