House Updates

It’s odd not blogging every day, but the break has been kind of nice!  It will probably be a few weeks before I get back in to a schedule – we’re going to be over at the house a lot this week finishing up projects, then we are taking a trip to Santa Fe with the in-laws for the Fourth… and then we will be MOVING so I am not sure what my internet situation will be!

We successfully closed on the house last Thursday.  We love it so much!    I was just a little excited when we got the key…

Anyways, Thursday night my mom brought over dinner and we had a great time hanging out in the empty house.  We started painting on Saturday – which really only sounds fun – but at least it is really turning out awesome!!!  We decided to go with a blue in the kitchen, after lots and lots of samples.

The color I liked so much online was a little too loud in real life (top far left), so we went back for MORE samples, and ended up with the perfect one (bottom far left).

Kudos to my Dad and my awesome husband for all the painting… we really got a lot done, and it looks awesome!  It looks a lot greener in these pictures than it is in real life.  It almost looks like the same color as the stairs (you’ll see those in a minute…) but it’s not.  It’s totally blue.  I will try to take some more pictures this afternoon if I am able to get to the house before the sun starts to set.

We also decided at the last minute to go ahead and paint some accent walls on the stairs.  This may be my absolute favorite!!  We are going to go back tonight to put on the last coat.

The downstairs bathroom is all taped up and ready for paint, we may start that tonight as well.  We also tested out some colors for Olaf’s nursery – but haven’t picked what colors we want for sure yet.  We also met with someone who is going to faux finish our counter tops in the kitchen so they look like granite.  That sounds really tacky – and I thought it would kind of be bad – but when she brought over the samples we were FLOORED.  It is SO cool.  We’re waiting for the estimate now, and will probably decide to do it!!

I am very relieved we decided to leave the trim painting to the professionals.  Now that we have some more color in the house, I hate the wood a little bit less, so that’s good!  Eventually we will get it all painted, but we have plenty of time.  I’ll try to remember to take more pictures of our progress while we fix up the house… it’s really fun doing all these little projects, however I am absolutely ready to actually live there!!

Right now I have this idea in my head of an awesome surprise for Brandon to thank him for everything he has done so far.  But the problem is that it’s not exactly a cheap surprise.  So I am weighing the pros and cons.  One minute I think he would be really excited and appreciative of it… but then the next minute I think he’d get mad at me for spending the money and that he may want a little input in what I want to do.  So I just don’t know.  Decisions, decisions………….

 

4 thoughts on “House Updates

  1. YAY HOUSE. Love the color. Picking paint colors is such a bitch, and then sometimes, after you have finished painting, you are still like, cool. Picked the wrong color. HATE IT ALL. Such is life. And I agree–it is so much fun to plan out and then have completed the projects, to play around, but then it is also so, so nice to be able to feel like you have things where you want them.
    I can’t wait to see what the surprise may/may not be. I don’t know Brandon enough personally to know which way you should go, but I think you just consider if he would put so much stock in the amount of money that you spent that it would take the fun out of it. Because then, you won’t be happy either and your surprise and good thoughts will be wasted. Like a really, really awesome outfit.

    • Well the thing I want to do will cost a decent amount of dollars, but not crazy. And if I do it I think I’ll make it where if he reeeeeeeeeeealy objects we could still return it. Thats how I feel right now. Ask me again in 10 minutes.

  2. Great choice! And, gosh, do I love your stairs! They are really beautiful!!! Also, go ahead with the gift. I was the scared of the same thing with my hubby, but then finally went for it and bought him a 7-piece knife set from William Sonoma. It cost me and arm and a leg, but I think it’s a great investment. After 2 minutes of grumpiness, he was super happy and excited. Today he couldn’t stop mentioning how easily those knives cut through everything 🙂 *yup, I’m the lucky one, my hubby cooks haha!* xoxo

Leave a Reply

