Race Recap: Wine and Dine Half Marathon

** I would be really upset if the recap from my very first half marathon didn’t make it to this blog. SO – I went to my old blog and pulled it and have decided to post it here!  Let’s consider it a “throwback thursday” post this week, in honor of all my girlfriends getting ready to start training for this year’s Wine and Dine!  This was originally posted on November 18, 2014 **

OK! Race time!!

We got lined up in our corrals, I chatted a bit with some girls around me… it was fun. I was kind of nervous – but overall I was good. I was really glad that Dad and I decided to wait in the line to pee before the race… I knew I was ready to go. They started counting down the first corral, and then BOOM! Fireworks! Cheering! Running! YAY! I thought to myself “ok, that was awesome, now to wait my turn…” and then the second corral got ready to go… 3, 2, 1… MORE fireworks! They set off fireworks for each corral which I was NOT expecting and it was SO AWESOME.

Sidenote: I was so terrified my phone would run out of batteries I did not take a single picture. So I am going to try to tell this story with pictures I find online and see what happens.  Sidenote 2: I realize that it’s pretty crappy I found pictures online and didn’t credit them.  I am a bad blogger.  If you stumble across this little blog and see one of your pictures – PLEASE let me know so I can credit you!  (and thank you for taking awesome pictures!!!)

Anyways – It was so exciting. The course was neat – Animal Kingdom, Hollywood Studios, Epcot.

The HARDEST part of the race was in the beginning, and it was all mental. Once my timer dinged the first 5 minutes and it was time for a walk break – I did NOT want to stop. But I did. I just kept thinking about what Jeff Galloway had said that morning about conserving your energy. Right at mile two, I heard cheering – and I looked over to see the elite runners were already through Animal Kingdom! So we got to cheer on the guys in first place – and that was awesome.  And they were freaking FAST.

Entering into Animal Kingdom gave me goosebumps. Not only was I excited to go into the park for the first time in years… but there was this HUGE Christmas tree right out front and it was just so neat. I could not stop smiling. I also FLEW through this park.

Then it got a bit boring.  Sorry, but that’s the truth.  For the next 5-ish miles it was the roads.  They had a lot of cool things on the sidelines, but I was not about to stop running and wait in line to get a picture… Once I finally got to Hollywood Studios it was ON.  I was still feeling really good, too!  The coolest part of this park was the Christmas lights.  They took my breath away!  It was unbelievable!!!

This picture doesn’t even do it justice.  So awesome!!  I wanted to take my whole family back to Hollywood Studios at night so they could see the lights, it just never happened.  Also, somewhere in this park… this hilarious picture was taken:

I looked like this for most of the race. I was so excited I could not stop smiling. Anyways – after some more twists and turns in Hollywood Studios it was time to head to Epcot. Seeing that damn giant golf ball was the best sight ever – I knew the finish line was CLOSE!!!

Apparently I flew right past Brandon and my Mom on the sidelines… I was just so ready to be done.  At this point, my legs hurt and my feet were on FIRE.  I made the last turn and the finish line was right there… and I heard the announcer say my name right when I crossed!  It was awesome!!  I got my medal, took my finisher picture, and called my husband.  I DID IT.

Here is all my official info. I am thrilled. Also? I am hooked. I cannot wait until Tinkerbell in January, and I am seriously considering running another one just for fun on December 8th.

OH! One more thing. I actually ended up running 13.61 miles. I got home and looked up my RunKeeper to see what my actual “13.1” time was… and here you go…

2:32:28.  Boom.

2 thoughts on “Race Recap: Wine and Dine Half Marathon

  1. OMG! This seems like so much fun! I wish we had Disney here in Canada now. I love how you don’t even look like you are running, you are having a ball. That’s the way it should be! Keep it up! xoxo Olena

  2. Pingback: Friday Five: Favorite Race Memories | Absolutely Ridiculous

Leave a Reply

