Fitness Friday Link-Up

Oh you guys.  I just don’t even know what I’m doing with myself these days.

So on Monday, the plan was to swim 300 yards and run 2.5 miles.  My alarm went off at the normal time, and I snoozed it like usual, and laid back to wake up a bit before getting out of bed.  I was wide awake, but just did not want to get up.  So then I started thinking.  In 5 and a half months, when I wake up at 4:26 in the morning, it will be because a tiny human needs me for survival, and I do not have a choice to lay back down.  And that’s not going to change for many, many years.

I stayed in bed and did not go to the gym.

And then I did it again on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.

I have been thinking A LOT about my races and training schedules.  I had two goals for 2014… finish 14 races and run 500 miles.  Guess what?  Neither one of those is going to happen.  And I am okay with that.  I’m done.  I’m just so done.  I don’t want to stop running completely, and I want to stay active throughout the rest of this pregnancy… but I just have to take it easy.  I’ve decided not to do any more races this year (but if a last minute fun 5k comes up I’ll consider it…) but I am officially race-free right now.

It’s an odd feeling, but kind of nice.  I’m still working on my motivation, and plan on coming up with a good workout schedule next week.  I’d like to still spend a little time at the gym, I’d like to take advantage of the warmer weather and do some outside running, and I’d like to give some of these pregnancy workout DVDs a chance in the living room… but I’m done pushing myself and forcing myself to compete in races.  If I wake up and feel like Princess Olaf and I need to stay in bed a little longer to soak up some Husband and Hula cuddles…… that’s what’s going to happen.

So – here’s my week:

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: Rest

Wednesday: Rest

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 2 Miles

Saturday: Rest  (maaaaaybe another bridge run with Chelsea – if she suggests it!)

Sunday: Rest

My goal next week is for 3-5 workouts, and to come up with a plan for the rest of the summer.  Honestly, I’m a little disappointed in myself for almost completely falling off the wagon right now – I can’t remember the last time I went a solid week without almost no workouts – but I think it’s probably good for me.

My run this morning was nice, slow paced and I bumped it back to 1:1 intervals.  That was a great idea.  I may settle in at 1:30 run / 1 walk… but for now that’s a good way to get back in it.  My sciatic nerve is still giving me some mild issues, and Princess Olaf is making it harder too.

I really think if I ever run a marathon it will be at those intervals.  My pace wasn’t that far off from my average half marathon pace, and I didn’t feel like killing anyone on the entire run!  The moment I started to think about wanting to walk… it was time to walk.  Running really is so much more enjoyable when I give my body little bursts of recovery time.

Plus, when I start to really train again after the baby is born, I bet you I am able to go much faster this way.

Anyways….

Heading back to the Hill Country this weekend… should be a LOT of fun!!!

Thanks to Jill Conyers for hosting the Fitness Friday Link-Up.  Be sure to stop by and check out her awesome blog and the other blogs participating!

6 thoughts on “Fitness Friday Link-Up

  1. I’m glad to hear you are listening to your body and mind and doing what feels good. You need the rest and relaxation so enjoy your time!!!! XOXO!! Happy Friday!!!

  2. Don’t beat yourself up for taking some time off from running. I bet you will find that when you get back at it, you’ll feel so much better from having the break.

  3. Reading this, now, having just read the last one (see, I told you, reading in order), I think that you are, simply put, feeling overwhelmed by life in general. I think you know that, thus your decision to wipe the slate. I think that is smart. Right now you need to concentrate on you, your husband, your baby, your family, your new house. Running will be there. Tri’s will be there. Give yourself a moment. And then pick it up and pick ONE THING AT A FREAKING TIME. I always find that being overwhelmed can be just as stiltifying as being underwhelmed. So break it down (why not, dance about if you feel so), and tackle one thing at a time. Or call/email me 😀

Leave a Reply

