Race Recap: Spa Girl Triathlon!

The.  Most.  Fun.  Race.  Ever.

Packet pickup on Friday afternoon was great.  Small venue, cool stuff.  I *almost* bought a new cycling shirt but didn’t and wish I would have.  The guy kept trying to talk me into it but I knew it would stop fitting in like 2 weeks, and I won’t be riding in any races anytime soon, and I don’t need to be spending the extra money!!  The swag bag was pretty sweet too… a great shirt, bag, and wine glass!!

I did end up leaving my wine glass in the hotel room (along with a necklace I bought while outlet shopping!) and it is lost forever.  I called the hotel – they HAD a glass – but from a different room.  Luckily, the girls at Spa Girl are going to give me another one!!!  I love them!!  I’m working out all the details now.  Fabulous.

Anyways!

I checked my bike in on Friday night so it would be one less thing to worry about Saturday morning.  The alarm went off super early, I put on my badass tri suit, grabbed my bag, and headed down!  It was cool outside and pretty damp, but I was able to set up my transition station nicely.  Luckily I had found an area where the bikes were a little more spread out, so I had plenty of room.

Then… it was time to wait.  This is where I really wish I had had a friend doing the race with me.  Everyone was really nice… but it would have been even nicer to have a buddy!  I’m trying to convince some people to do it with me next year… *cough*MOM*cough*…  I picked up my ankle chip timer, walked around a bit, and just took it all in.  The fog was insane that morning… I wish I would have taken more pictures!

We had a pre-race meeting at 6:30 where they went over all the details of the event.  Reminded us of the swim in/bike out/bike in/run out areas… there was a prayer… and then we ALL sang the national anthem!  At first I thought that was lame, but about halfway into it I changed my mind.  It was kind of awesome!

Somehow, I ended up in the first group of swimmers.  Seeing as they were sending us off one by one… I was okay with that.  The line started moving towards the pool and I kept right in the middle of the pack.  There were some great girls in line around me and we talked about all sorts of things… and I confessed that I was pregnant.  They were all very impressed.  🙂

During all of this – I wasn’t really nervous!  I knew I could do the distances and I was prepared – I was just really excited that the pool was heated.

Every few seconds they sent a swimmer off in the river… and before I knew it I was OFF!

I forgot to click start on my watch, so my timing was a little off.  When I got out of the pool my watch said SIX something which was way too fast… but after looking at my official time, maybe it said nine something and I was just delirious?

Official Swim Time:  10:46  2:41 s/100m

Perfect.  Love it.  I hopped out of the pool and started “running” barefoot back over to the transition area.  It was about .25 miles from the pool, so not too bad.  I got there, rinsed off my feet, put on my butt pad shorts, grabbed my belt and helmet, and took off!  (Transition 1 time: 5:57)

 

The bike ride started down this HUGE hill which was awesome but daunting knowing I would have to go back UP it at the end.  I also should have listened to my father and aired up my tires… because I’m pretty sure my back tire was almost flat.  Ssshhh… don’t tell him!  For being in the hill country, it was a relatively flat course.  However, the slight uphills lasted way longer than I wanted them too.  I had not trained on hills at all… so this was new to me!  There were two loops, and then you headed back up that hill (Which, I walked my bike up.  Seriously this hill was INSANE).

Official Bike Time: 45:01  13.3m/h

Transition two was much easier.  Take off butt shorts, put on sparkle skirt, and GO!  It was at this time I realized I was doing this race MUCH faster than I thought.  I told my mom to come down around 9 and she should see me finish…. it was 8:00 and I was getting ready to run!!  So I shot her a quick text message that I was running so she knew to get her butt to the finish line!  (Transition 2 time: 2:47)

The run was pretty – mostly kept to golf cart paths and the road.  My legs felt okay, but pregnancy has still really messed up my running.  I stuck to 3/1 intervals and still had a hard time catching my breath and not wanting to pee my pants.  So it wasn’t the best run… but it wasn’t that bad either.  I knew the end was near and I would be a triathlete and that was SO exciting.

Official Run Time: 21:14  11:10 m/m

And that was that.  I finished a triathlon.

SPA GIRL TRIATHLON:  1:25:46  
Age Pos:  59
Overall Pos: 645

After the race they had a lovely party with music, great food, and mimosas.  We hung around for a while and then headed up to our room to get ready for the pool.  I could not have been more pleased with this race, and I really hope to do it again next year.  So much so, I am thinking of registering for 2015 RIGHT NOW.  Wouldn’t that be a fantastic first Mother’s Day Weekend?!  I think yes.

Here’s a better shot of the bling:

11 thoughts on “Race Recap: Spa Girl Triathlon!

  1. Pingback: Fitness Friday Link-Up | Absolutely Ridiculous

  2. Pingback: Triathlon Photos!! | Absolutely Ridiculous

  3. YOU. ARE. A. ROCKSTAR. Congratulations on ALL of this! This looks like so much fun! I want to do it next year! That’s an awesome medal too and you know those girls you were talking to probably told all their friends later about the awesome girl they met who was doing a triathlon while pregnant!!

Leave a Reply

