Linking Up – It’s The Little Things

The Little Things – Birthday Edition!!!

Brandon’s 28th birthday was this past weekend and we had a really good time.  I’ve noticed as soon as the weather starts to warm up, our schedules go CRAZY and we get so busy!  It’s good, fun stuff though so we’re excited.  Anyways – on to the birthday…

Friday after work we went out to dinner with my parents.  We ended up going to a NEW restaurant (which, if you know my dad, is a huge deal)… and it was pretty good!  We were surprised the place wasn’t busier because the food was great.  I had lobster ravioli because I can… and it was amazing.  Side note?  Olaf is making me not too keen on veggies.  Which sucks because I love veggies.  I am just not that into them right now.  Anyways – the food:

So.  Good.

Saturday we woke up and drove out to Fort Worth.  We stopped by a bridal salon so I could pick up a bridesmaids dress (that is so freaking huge on me… ugh…) and then we poked around a bit.  We were early, so ended up walking around a mall to pass some time.  I got two pairs of maternity leggings and I will never wear regular leggings again in my life.

We met some of Brandon’s friends at Rahr Brewery in Fort Worth.  Such a cool place!  I didn’t even really miss drinking the beer – I stopped drinking beer when we were trying to get pregnant (gluten) and so I didn’t really miss it.  If we were at a winery it would have been a different story!  So we hung out at the brewery for a while, listened to some live music, and had a great time.  Then we ended up here:

THIS PLACE you guys… oh man.

It is basically one giant patio.  And the food!  It’s Tim Love’s BBQ place and it is so great.  We ordered the beef shin – and it is basically the entire shin on a huge slab of wood with all the fixings.  Seriously:

Five of us made a pretty serious dent in this thing, but there was still a lot left over!  It was SO GOOD!!!

After this we came back home for some R&R… spending the entire day outside really takes it out of you!!  On Sunday (actual birthday!!) we went to breakfast with our friends Catherine & Elliot & their two little girls.  This was a lot of fun because it’s kind of become a tradition!  We talked mostly about baby stuff and ate whiskey cake.  YUM.

Sunday afternoon we went to the Rise & Shine 5K (more on that later) and it was HOT.  SO HOT.  But we did it… and then came home for a nap!!  Sunday evening was your typical birthday shenanigans… presents, dinner, cake!  Brandon loved all of his presents, and we had a really nice dinner at Maguire’s.

So there you have it – a birthday weekend full of lots of little things to add up to one giant fun weekend!!  Thanks to Jess and Ashley for hosting the link-up!  See you next week!!

8 thoughts on “Linking Up – It’s The Little Things

  1. ugh good lobster ravioli is the bomb.com. I HAVE TO GO TO WOODSHED. LIKE NOW. ERRRRMMIGGEERRRDD that place looks amazing. For me, right now, it is all about the little things–we are watching our dollars until I can start trying to get hired as a CPT so anything that feels like a treat really is. Like Chipotle Caramel Popcorn MMMMMMM

  2. I really need to stop reading blogs with delicious food pictures before lunch. That ravioli looks amazing and I LOVE BBQ. Thank goodness I have such a big calorie deficit from this morning because I’m about to go eat all the things.

Leave a Reply

