Linking Up – It’s The Little Things

It’s Wednesday!!  I feel the need to shout out to the lovely Sara for introducing me to this link-up, and as always a special thanks to Jess and Ashley for hosting.

Number One – How I Met Your Mother.  **if you haven’t watched it yet – stop reading and come back tomorrow – don’t even scroll down – seriously**  The season finale on Monday was a roller coaster of emotions for me.  I was thinking all along that the mother was dead, but didn’t know how I would feel about it actually happening.  I officially lost it when Barney met Ellie (and that name is now on my list) and didn’t stop crying until the end, when I was sobbing.  I read this about Ted and Robin and it summed it all up perfectly…

It wasn’t why they didn’t belong together, it was why they didn’t belong together at that time.  Ted always needed to have kids, and Robin always needed to have a career.  Neither one of them would have been happy if either one of them settled.  Ted got his kids, and Robin got the career she always wanted.  Neither one had any “what ifs” going into the relationship.

One other quote I found…

From the beginning the story has never been about the mother. It was about two people falling in love at the wrong time.

I’m going to miss this show sooooo much – but it needed to end.  And I am satisfied with the ending even though I am sad the mother is dead.  I read an article before watching the finale that said “If they kill off the mother… that’s like Rachel not getting off the plane, and then the plane crashing in the ocean!!”  Now I have a serious show-hole that needs to be filled.  I’m looking forward to How I Met Your Dad (although I am irrationally upset it’s “Dad” in the title and not “Father”)… and I did get a kick out of Friends With Better Lives… so we will see what happens next…

Number Two – My training plan.  I know it’s silly but seriously… I love having something to focus on to take my mind off of everything else.  It’s getting a little intense these days (and will be for 3 more weeks) and I miss my Thursday rest day… but I do love my plan.  Now that I am not going to be going to Disneyland for Dumbo or Disney World for Wine and Dine… I am not sure what to do after the Triathlon on May 10th.  I want to have some sort of goal to work towards, without putting too much pressure on myself because baby comes first… so we will see…

Number Three – OLAF the fetus!!  This one is gonna be on the list permanently until it’s not “little” anymore.  Update on Olaf – I am 8 weeks, 4 days pregnant.  221 days to go.  Olaf resembles an alien, and that’s wicked cool.  S/he is growing about a millimeter every day, and s/he is MOVING around even though I can’t feel it.  Guess what else is happening?  Olaf is growing taste buds.  I still don’t really feel pregnant.  Just kind of yucky and tired.  And constipated.  Seriously though I am not complaining one bit… pregnancy has been a breeze so far.

… and now I’m knocking on all the wood.  … and crossing all the fingers that it stays this way!

XOXO

4 thoughts on “Linking Up – It’s The Little Things

  1. I just finished reading a handful of articles about the finale, and while I initially was not happy with the ending, I see why it ended the way it did. I get it, and I can deal with it. I do kinda want to watch it all from the beginning now.. see how I feel about the finale when it’s not 9 years in the making.

Leave a Reply

