Fitness Friday Link-Up

I am in VEGAS!  But in true freak of nature fitness person fashion – I am still workin’ it!  Thanks to Jill Conyers for hosting, again!  I hope I am able to join the link-up from my phone… but if not, I’ll link up again next week!

This was my first week of BRICK workouts.  What’s a brick workout?

Bricks are a very important part of triathlon (and duathlon) training and they are sometimes overlooked.  Bricks refer to training on two disciplines during the same workout, one after the other with minimal or no interruption in between, just as you would do in a race (I am sure you knew this). Usually when people talk about bricks they refer to a bike/run workout, but bricks could also refer to a swim/bike workout or to a run/bike workout (if you are training for a duathlon). These last two are often overlooked but still important to fit here and there in your training plan.  (link)

I was kind of nervous about it this week.  I don’t know why… I’d done it before on accident… but I was nervous!  This brick was a bike/run workout because man is it strange going to run right after biking!!  I did okay… the two minute walking warm up I did when I was first on the treadmill helped a lot.  Other than the fact that the workout took an entire hour at the gym (boring) it was a good workout.

Monday: 20 minute run 2 mile run

Tuesday: Swim 300 yds

Wednesday: Brick – 30 minute bike, 10 minute run, 20 minute walk

Thursday: Swim 400 yds

Friday: 40 minute run

Saturday: Bike 12 miles

Sunday: Rest!

I have all the best intentions to complete my Friday run and Saturday ride – but it all depends on what’s available to me at the hotel!  I booked our spa appointments for Saturday because that gives you free access to the gym… hopefully they have a good bike!  If I can’t get to the gym for free on Friday… I may just go run the strip.  We will see what happens!  There is also a chance I may just say screw it and relax this weekend.  If I have learned anything, it’s that sometimes taking a little break doesn’t ruin your training.

There is one other thing I wanted to talk about today – THIS.  I am DONE with SELF Magazine.  I have a subscription – and have no idea how I got the subscription – but it will be going right from the mailbox into my recycle bin.  Once we have a house again, I’ll consider burning it in the fire pit just for dramatic effect.  I am so furious over this – I can’t even see straight.  I just simply can’t believe that a magazine known for “building up women” would do such a thing.  The fact that she was in the middle of chemo is just icing on the cake… I’d be just as furious if she was perfectly healthy.  What SELF Magazine did is just flat out wrong on SO many levels.

I will also be buying a tutu from Glam Runner for an upcoming run.  For sure.

5 thoughts on “Fitness Friday Link-Up

  1. I don’t even wear tutus and I want to buy one just as a big F-U to Self Magazine. What an enormous fail.

    I hope you are having fun in Vegas! (LUCKY!) It sounds like you had a great week!

Leave a Reply

