Fitness Friday Link-Up

Thanks to Jill Conyers for hosting the link up!

AND thanks everyone for your sweet wishes on yesterday’s big announcement.  We are thrilled!!  Now can you see why I decided to back out of the half this week?  While I was assured by my doctor that I was fine to keep doing what I was doing – the thought of the half marathon made me uneasy.  I was already a little worried about it because I wasn’t able to increase my mileage and train like I had in the past… it just was nerve wracking.  Plus, the only reason I was going to do it was to get the special medal – and the chances of me doing Dallas at the end of the year are slim to none.  SO?  I backed out.  Bummer… but I feel good about my decision.  It is going to be INCREDIBLY hard not going to California this August to run Dumbo (I still may try to do it)… and I have already cried real tears about missing out on Wine and Dine with all my friends.  That race is literally on my due date.  But it’s okay… I have a new goal I am working towards this year!

So – here’s my week in a nutshell:

Monday – Swim 300 yards, Run 20 minutes

Tuesday – Bike 8 miles

Wednesday – Swim 300 yards, Walk 30 minutes

Thursday – Rest

Friday – Run 40 minutes Run 4 miles
Took me over 40 minutes… but like I said before, I much prefer mile to minute goals.

Saturday – Bike 10 miles

Sunday – Rest

This week was pretty tame.  Next week I have my first “brick” workout which is a big deal in triathlon training.  Next week I also lose my Thursday rest day, which I am kind of bummed out about.  I really love my Thursday rest day.  But it’s all good!  I am counting down the days until my first tri!!  (and i am already scoping out what sticker i want to get for my car!)  Finishing my first triathlon will be amazing, but finishing my first triathlon while pregnant on Mother’s Day will be even sweeter!!!

Also?  I have a few really FUN 5Ks coming up.  And TWO of them involve beer.  Go figure?!

5 thoughts on “Fitness Friday Link-Up

  1. Congrats on the big news! I ran a 10k a month before having my first daughter. People looked at me like I was crazy and looking back I think I was! Do what’s best, the Disney races will always be there.

    • Thanks for the advice! I am going to keep a few races in mind (local ones) … but I am not committing myself to anything major after my triathlon in May. As soon as my body tells me to stop… I will!

Leave a Reply

