Ouidad Cut Review

So when I was a kid, I had super curly hair.  Like – ringlets.  Naturally, my mother decided to grow it out.  However once it started to get long – game over.  Eventually my hair got so straight it wouldn’t even hold a curl with rollers.  I always wanted curly hair – I even got a perm when I was 14!  I loved curls… but eventually I just had to admit it wasn’t going to happen.

Until I was in my 20s… my hair was getting more and more unmanageable and I did not understand why.  Then I started to notice my velcro rollers were getting absolutely cemented in my hair down by my neck.

Then one morning I took this picture and sent it to my mother – I think the caption was “WHAT THE HELL?”  Apparently my hair decided it was going to curl.  I was pretty psyched about it, but had no clue what I was doing.

Enter the next several years of trial and error.  For the next 3ish years.  Every time I would go in for a haircut, I would freak out about it and just get a trim and leave… and eventually my hair was just completely ridiculous.  I don’t have a ton of pictures of my hair long and curly – because most of the time it would last about 3 hours down and then I would have to put it up.  Running was annoying because no matter where I knotted it up on my head, it would pull.  It was heavy and the weight of the curls at the bottom was pulling out all the curls at the top!  I knew I needed to do something about it.

I wish I would have taken a before picture – I TOTALLY meant to – but the traffic on the way to the salon had me throwing a hissy fit and I was 20 minutes late to the appointment.  I didn’t want to waste any more of her time by asking her to take lame pictures of me!!  So I will post a picture from California – I think this mostly shows just how long my hair got, and it’s actually pretty curly still at the end of the day here.

So I caved and made an appointment at a real salon.  I got on Yelp and just searched “curly hair dallas” to see what came up – there was a small salon close to my house that specialized in curls… so I made an appointment.  Which is another miracle – usually I just call around until someone can get me in immediately because I have zero patience.  The last time – I went to a very expensive salon where the receptionist assured me that the stylist was wonderful with curly hair and he was an idiot.  The first thing he did was brush my hair.  What?  Then when he was drying it… he could NOT keep his fingers out of it.  I looked like a fool when I left the salon.  He had no freaking clue what he was doing.

This salon?  Amazing.  AND I totally lucked out.  My stylist, Diane, has curls exactly like mine.  She knew what she was doing.  She gave me an Ouidad cut – which is this specific technique where they go in to each curl and take out the bulk.  She also suggested I use Devacurl products (the Oudiad products are a bit heavier, and because my hair is so fine it will weigh it down).  The cut was so expensive it hurt – BUT – it’s just a cut you get once every 6 months (or for me, every 9…) the next time I go to the salon I will just get a regular cut, which is way less expensive.

Right now I am going to go through the rest of the products I have before purchasing another.  Luckily, I already had the Devacurl gel she suggested I use!  I also have a giant bottle of Mixed Chicks I need to get through.  Depending on how it goes with these and the new cut – I may or may not try Ouidad products.  The only thing I didn’t like about my hair when I left the salon was how soft the curls were.  I think most people would like it – and it looked good don’t get me wrong – but I touch my hair.  A LOT.  I need some grit in there to hold those curls!!  Today I styled it with a mix of the Devacurl and the Mixed Chicks… still a little soft but I think it looks okay!

Took the selfie in the car on the way to work the other day (stopped at a light!) when it was finally mostly dry.  I love it.  I’m still getting used to it and need to play around with products – but so far I will never, ever, ever, ever go back to have my hair cut by someone who doesn’t know what they are doing.  And actually?  I may go even shorter next time.  Cutting off 8 inches of hair was enough of a shock this time!

3 thoughts on “Ouidad Cut Review

  1. I LOVE your hair!! Like you, I’ve had a long fight with my hair (for various reasons), but finally decided 2 weeks ago to cut it short (like I used to have it). I tried so many different long hairstyles but disliked them all, so now my hair is right at my collar bone and I love it so much better!

Leave a Reply

