Be My Valentine!

We sooo don’t do Valentine’s Day.  Not because we have anything against it – I actually think it’s nice to take a day to show your loved ones that you love them – but because we’re cheap.  Let’s be honest here.  We had been planning all week to go out to dinner on Friday, and then I remembered it is Valentine’s Day!  Needless to say – our plans changed quick.  We have absolutely zero desire to go fight the crowds on Valentine’s Day!!!  Plus, I can make a pretty delicious dinner at home…

I stopped by the store on my way home yesterday and picked up our “nice dinner” essentials.  Steak and potatoes.  I have finally figured out the best way to make steaks at home – and I’m pretty excited to cook them tonight.  I remembered yesterday that I used to have this great seasoning mix for oven roasted potatoes that I haven’t used in forever.  God bless the internet and allrecipes.com because I found it this morning!!  I’ve posted the recipe at the end of this post!

Anyways – we will be eating steak tonight, and we will be opening one of those bottles of wine we have saved for a random special occasion.  Brandon is in charge of dessert.  Last year we were apart and so didn’t celebrate together – but the year before he made this awesome chocolate mousse.  I’m excited to see what he does this year!

To prove that we are super not sappy – I am posting a picture of the card I got for him.  It made me laugh because it is so, so, so true.  If anyone has to “put up with” anyone in our relationship…. he wins!  I can be pretty annoying.

To prove that we are actually kind of sappy – every year, since we were dating, we write a list of the top 10 reasons we love each other.  The point was for us to be able to go back over the years and see how it’s changed… but we kind of suck and being sentimental… and we haven’t saved them.  Oops.  But still, it’s our tradition and its cheap and easy and it’s sweet and kind of sappy.  I finished my list this morning and will fill out the card right after I hit publish.

Happy Valentines Day, everybody!  I hope you get lots of red wine and chocolate.

XOXO

Oven Roasted Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • 1/8 cup oil
  • 1 T minced garlic
  • 1/2 t dried basil
  • 1/2 t dried marjoram
  • 1/2 t dried dill weed
  • 1/2 t dried thyme
  • 1/2 t dried oregano
  • 1/2 t dried parsley
  • 1/2 t crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 4 large potatoes, peeled and cubed (I use a bag of fancy potatoes, the purple and red and white ones.  I don’t peel them – cut the smaller ones in half and the bigger ones in quarters)

Directions: (1) Preheat oven to 475 degrees F (245 degrees C).  (2) In a large bowl, combine oil, garlic, basil, marjoram, dill weed, thyme, oregano, parsley, red pepper flakes, and salt. Stir in potatoes until evenly coated. Place potatoes in a single layer on a roasting pan or baking sheet.  (3) Roast for 20 to 30 (to maybe 40 if you like them really crispy!) minutes in the preheated oven, turning occasionally to brown on all sides.

3 thoughts on “Be My Valentine!

  1. I’m obsessed with oven roasted potatoes… so I will totally be making these. I’m trying to figure out what we’re doing… but it’s going to involve something easy that can be enjoyed at a Residence Inn for sure.

Leave a Reply

