One Year

One year ago today, I started my brand new shiny job.  I had packed up my car with the dog and 75% of my clothes – and my husband drove me from our wonderful little life in Lubbock and left me with my parents.  One year ago today I woke up, put on my big girl pants, and marched into a career.  It’s been crazy and I have learned so much – and honestly I am still in shock that it’s already a year!  Some days it feels like I just started last week.

I am very lucky to have an amazing boss…  she really is the number one reason I love this job.  From our first phone interview (where I was parked at a truck stop in the warehouse district, praying the truckers didn’t decide to start the rigs!!) I knew that this was the job for me.  I am surrounded by brilliant people, I am challenged, and most importantly I am understood and valued.  It’s pretty rare to find positions like this.

Most importantly – for the first time ever in my life – on the first anniversary of any job – I am not looking for something else.  I am perfectly happy right now.  I am not looking for a new title, or to move departments, or to find a new firm…  This is where I want to be.

I’ve also made a huge mental switch in the past year – partly in thanks to my woman crush Sheryl Sandberg – but I’m not afraid anymore.  Yes, a big part of my life is working towards becoming a mother, but that is not what I focus my entire identity on.  I am more than that.  I am smarter than I ever gave myself credit for.  I’m leaning in, I’m taking charge, and every day I feel more and more awesome.   I sit at the table now, not behind it.

When I think about the last year – there really is one person that deserves a massive amount of credit.  My husband.  Not only did he support my decision to reach of something bigger in my career, but he drove me there.  Literally.  We picked up our entire life and moved across the state because it’s what I needed.  Thankfully, he also found an amazing position here that was an incredible move in his career… but this all started because I wanted more.  So I need to thank him, too.

“Success is liking yourself, liking what you do, and liking how you do it.”  – Maya Angelou

Nailed it.

6 thoughts on “One Year

Leave a Reply

