Things to Know

Here is a list of things you should know about me, fitness edition.743224-1034-0032s

1) I run.  This is a new hobby.  I decided I was going to run my first half marathon in April of 2013, and obsessively trained until November – where I completed Walt Disney World Wine and Dine Half Marathon with my Dad.  (That photo is me right in the middle of that race!)  It sparked something in me that I didn’t know I had… and I haven’t stopped since.  My last big race was the Disneyland Tinker Bell Half Marathon with some of my best friends in the world.

2) I tri.  This is even newer.  I decided that running is fun, but biking and swimming could be fun too… and so I randomly picked a VERY small shorter-than-sprint distance triathlon to train for – that’s coming up in May in San Antonio.  (Shortly to be followed up by an actual Sprint Distance in June… then possibly Olympic in 2015…)

3) I’m crazy.  If there’s a challenge?  I’ll take it.  I’m signed up for my first challenge race in August – the Dumbo Double Dare!  It’s Disneyland’s 10K on Saturday, and Half Marathon on Sunday!  I get THREE MEDALS for doing it.  Also – the Dopey challenge is on my bucket list.  This is a 5K, 10K, Half, and FULL.  One day folks, one day.

4) It’s all about the bling.  I do not run over 10 miles without a medal.  This includes training runs – I have a slightly addictive habit of participating in virtual runs… because seriously… it’s all about the bling.

5) I AM SLOW.  I like being slow.  When I started running I was one of those “if I stop, then I didn’t RUN!” and I got pretty miserable pretty quickly.  After I accomplished my first goal of running a 5K without walking… I started walking.  I fell in love with the intervals.  My most favorite is 4 minutes running, 1 minute walking.  I’ve been playing around with them more recently – but I think that 4/1 is my sweet spot.

6) I had absolutely ZERO desire to run a full marathon ever in my life until I ran a half.  I want to do it.  However, I am not in a place where I am willing to put my body through that training right now… so, it’s on hold.  Bucket list, people.  I have many years to run a marathon.

XOXO,

Sarah

One thought on “Things to Know

Leave a Reply

